Looking For Alaska book review.

Title: Looking For Alaska.

Author: John Green.

Goodreads rating: 4/5 stars.

Again, this is a spoiler review so beware before you try to go into it. If you haven’t read it, be sure to go read it first before coming to read this. You have been warned!

OPINIONS.

  Oh God! Where do I even begin with this book! So it was obviously great considering I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars and in its typically John Green fashion, it shook my heart.

First, I loved the whole format of the before and after scenes and how the days were being counted out. In the beginning, I was totally confused as to what was even happening in the book. So Miles goes to Culver Creek and since I’m a totally reserved person, I didn’t think the company he was in was the greatest, but I did eventually grow into their whole squad.

Alaska became one of my favorite characters in this book and it probably had something to do with the fact that she was an absolute bookworm which was obvious after she said:”When I look at my room, I see a girl who loves book“. I loved how Miles had an extremely weird fetish with people’s last words which is why it definitely didn’t help when, after Alaska died in that car crash, he beat himself up over how after all those last words he knew, he’d never know hers.

I kind of expected Alaska to die because of the fact that it said that nothing would ever be the same after but that didn’t make it any less sad when she did. The Colonel is literally my wilder side / spirit animal. He is such a rebel and a remarkable prankster. How he plans everything down to the last second was phenomenal.

Out of everyone in that whole school, my favorite teacher would probably be the Old Man (whose name I think is Mr. Hyde). He is so deeply philosophical and just an amazing teacher that I’d probably love to be in his class. It doesn’t help that everything he says can be turned into a lecture.

Overall, there are probably a lot of things that I might have forgotten to include so forgive me for that. If you guys have anything to add to that then please share your thoughts with me down in the comment section below. I’d love to know what you thought of this book.

Favorite quotes in this book include:

“What is an “instant” death anyway? How long is an instant? Is it one second? Ten? The pain of those seconds must have been awful as her heart burst and her lungs collapsed and there was no air and no blood to her brain and only raw panic. What the hell is instant? Nothing is instant. Instant rice takes five minutes, instant pudding an hour. I doubt that an instant of blinding pain feels particularly instantaneous.”

“So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

“Thomas Edison’s last words were “It’s very beautiful over there“. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”

So, I hope you guys liked this post. If you have any ideas for blog posts that you’d like me to do then just comment down below. Thank you for reading.

Until next time,

Me.

 

 

Leave a comment